North American Skull Base Society Annual Business Meeting

February 7, 2020

La Cantera Resort & Spa, San Antonio, TX President Ricardo L. Carrau, MD, Presiding

MINUTES

- 1. Welcome and Call to Order John G. Golfinos, MD
 - a. Dr. Carrau called the meeting to order at 12:25pm CST
- 2. Minutes from the previous business meeting approved unanimously
- 3. Report of the Treasurer Adam Zanation, MD, FACS
 - a. Dr. Zanation provided the financial highlights of the society from 2019
- 4. Reports from Standing Committees
 - a. Membership Brian Thorp, MD
 - i. Dr. Thorp presented the list of New Members to induct into the society
 - 1. Unanimously approved by NASBS Members (list at end of minutes)
 - ii. Mentorship Program 20-23 growth on arget with goal, plan to continue evolve and grow program
 - iii. Team Honor Roll has been under development for a few years before getting through pilot phase and into the program it is now. The first six (6) will be listed on the website. Applications will open again soon.
 - b. Research award winners are:
 - i. Wenyin Shi, MD, PhD
 - ii. Isaac Yang, MD
 - iii. Justin Cetas, MD, PhD
 - iv. Mindy Rabinowitz, MD
 - c. Value Based Healthcare Erin McKean, MD, MBA, FACS
 - i. This has been a task force that is formally transitioning to a Standing Committee
 - ii. Projects will include data collection and care pathways in skull base surgery.
 - d. Website & Communications
 - New addition of a Social media Subcommittee chaired by Christopher S. Graffeo, MD, MS and members Stephen Magill, MD, PhD; Kristen Scheitler, MD; and Thomas J. Sorenson, BS

- 5. Report of the Nominating Committee James Evans, MD, FACS, FAANS
 - a. Slate to approve officer and directors unanimously approved by NASBS Members
 - b. Officers:
 - i. President John G. Golfinos
 - ii. President-Elect Lee Zimmer
 - iii. Vice President Siviero Agazzi
 - iv. Secretary L. Madison Michael, II
 - v. Treasurer Adam Zanation
 - vi. Immediate Past President Ricardo L. Carrau
- 6. Bylaws amendments Siviero Agazzi, MD, MBA, FACS
 - a. Amendments were presented (listed at end of minutes)
 - b. Amendments approved by unanimous vote of NASBS Members

7. New Business

- a. Dr. Golfinos presented the Scientific Program Chairs for 2020-2021
 - i. Daniel Prevedello, MD
 - ii. C. Arturo Solares, MD, FACS
- b. Dr. Golfinos encouraged participation on NASBS Committees
- c. Save the Date NASBS Summer Course at LSU August 6-9, 2020
- d. Save the Date NASBS 31st Annual Meeting February 12-14, 2021

8. Adjournment

a. Dr. Carrau dismissed NASBS Members at 12:48pm CST

List of New Members

ACTIVE MEMBERS

	_	
Oliver Adunka	Pinakin Jethwa	Maja Svrakic
Henry Barham	Stephen Kang	Jeremy Tan
Randall Bly	Aasim Kazmi	Yona Vaisbuch
Joseph Breen	Michael Kohanski	Rafael Vega
Zachary Cappello	Elizabeth Le	Patrick Walz
Raymond Cho	Luis Fernando Marcias-Valle	Ronald Warnick
David Clark	William Maggio	Junichi Yamamoto
Alan Colicchio	Adam Mastwe	
Matthew Dedmon	Sonul Mehta	
E Hunter Dyer	Diego Mendez Rosito	
Carlos Estrada	Devin Mistry	
Matthew Ewend	Marc-Elie Nader	
Bryan Figueroa	Kenneth Newkirk	
Mauricio Gamez	Jay Paul Reddy	
David Gudis	Christopher Sarkiss	
Sang Hung	Josef Shargorodsky	
Neal Jackson	Nael Shoman	

CANDIDATE MEMBERS

Jihad Abdelgadir	Joseph Linzey
Emily Barrow	Leila Mady
Andrew Boucher	Ivo Petoe
Michael Catalino	Angela Richardson
Jonathan Chainey	Rima Rindler
Felipe Constanzo	Tyler Scullen
Mario Corona Ruiz	Brian Sindelar
Lekhaj Daggubati	Kevin Zhao

Andrey Filimonov	Jeffrey Zuccato
Joel Franco	
Lawrence Glancz	
Jordan Grube	
Samuel Helman	
Christopher Hong	
Zhenxiao Huang	
Yasser Jeelani	
Nadeem Kolia	

INTERNATIONAL MEMBERS

Tiruchy Janakiram	Gill Svirir
Jian Ju	Mardjono Tjahjadi
Lifeng Li	Peter Tomazic
Sebastian Liao	Masahiko Tosaka
David Locatelli	Muhammad Usman
Javier Orozco Mera	Hongmeng Yu
Javier Ospina	
Selfy Oswari	
Benedict Panizza	
Jae-Sung Park	
Marcos Perocco Luiz Da Costa	
Lucas Possatti	
Monica Quiroga	
Tural Rahimli	
Takashi Sugawara	
Ashish Suri	

BYLAWS AMENDMENTS

Addition to II. Committees

2.6.0 Value Based Healthcare Committee: Shall consist of a Chair and 10 members whose term of office shall be three years with alternating and overlapping appointments, and the option for one renewal to the committee. The function of the committee is to establish the best evidence-based protocol for a variety of procedures for skull base patients by evaluating both the surgical literature and non-surgical literature.

CURRENT: 3.3.0.b. - The names of candidates who are nominated by the Board shall be announced in writing to all voting members at least one (1) month prior to the next scheduled business meeting.

PROPOSED AMENDMENT: 3.3.0.b. - The names of candidates who are nominated by the Board shall be announced in writing to all voting members prior to the next scheduled business meeting.

CURRENT: 5.1.0 *Nominations*. A report of nominations for officers shall be sent by the nominating committee to the Executive Committee not less than forty-five days before the annual business meeting. The Executive Director shall advise the membership in writing of the nominations not less than thirty days before the annual business meeting. Any five members of the Society may place in nomination the name of a candidate eligible for office by submitting their name to the Executive Director no less than thirty days before the annual business meeting. The Executive Director will advise each member in writing of such additional nominations at the annual business meeting.

Proposed

PROPOSED AMENDMENT: 5.1.0 *Nominations*. A report of nominations for officers shall be sent by the Nominating Committee to the Executive Committee not less than forty-five (45) days before the annual business meeting. Upon approval of the slate of nominations by the Executive Committee, the Executive Director will advise each member in writing of nomination. Upon approval of the Executive Committee, the membership will be presented with the slate of nominations no later than seven days prior to the annual business meeting. Additional nominations may be proposed via email to the Executive Director or from the floor, prior to voting, at the annual business meeting.

CURRENT: 5.2.0 *Voting.* Each voting member of the Society present at the annual business meeting shall have the right to vote on all proposed candidates. Nominees receiving the highest number of votes shall be declared elected. In the event of a tie the President shall cast the deciding vote.

PROPOSED AMENDMENT: 5.2.0 *Voting.* Each voting member of the Society present at the annual business meeting shall have the right to vote on the slate of nominations presented. In the event nominations are added from the floor, members will vote on each category instead of the slate of nominations. Nominees receiving the highest number of votes shall be declared elected. In the event of a tie, the President shall cast the deciding vote.